Nominations now open for local arts award

Published on 12 October 2016

Mildura Arts and Culture Advisory Committee are seeking nominations for the 2016 Elliott Award. The award recognises an individual for their outstanding contribution to the arts in our municipality, particularly where that contribution has not previously been formally acknowledged.

The Elliott Award was established in 2006 and recognises a person who has made a real difference to the arts locally. It is named after Senator R.D. Elliott, owner of the Elliott Newspaper Group and who bequeathed the founding art collection to Mildura Rural City Council.

Joanne Farrell, Chair of Mildura Arts and Culture Advisory Committee said the Elliott Award is opportunity to acknowledge the passion and dedication of someone in our community who has made a real impact in the area of arts.

“The Elliott Award is an opportunity to acknowledge the commitment and enthusiasm of people within our community from the field of arts”, said Ms Farrell 

“These are often people who may go unnoticed or don’t seek recognition. It’s that person that is the foundation or the core of an organisation, that person who is always there and willing to assist wherever they can”, said Ms Farrell

Previous recipients of the award have been identified for their length of service to the arts, the breadth of their contribution throughout the term of their involvement in the arts, the encouragement and nurturing of children and youth in arts practice, the championing of arts involvement to the broader community, and the creation of a significant positive community legacy to the development of the arts in our community.

The Elliott Award will be selected by Mildura Arts and Culture Advisory Committee and awarded later this year.

Download, complete and submit a Nomination Form. Completed nomination forms and supporting documentation must be submitted by 4pm, Wednesday 2 November 2016.

For further information or for a Nomination Form visit

Previous Elliott Award winners:

Des Tobin (2006)
Tom McCullough (2007)
Vaughan Stirrat (2008)
Neil Noyce (2009)
Mollie Kalms (2010)
Shirley Bowie (2011)
Neil Fettling (2012)
Kay Sylvester (2013)
Peta-Lynne Buchanan and Janine Kerr (2014)
Leonard (Len) Krause (2015)


Media enquiries 
Rebecca Wells 
p) (03) 5018 8195 

Tagged as: