New Councillors sworn in at Annual Council Meeting

Published on 19 November 2020

Council 2020 group.jpg

Mildura Rural City Council’s nine Councillors for the coming four-year term were sworn in at tonight’s Annual Council Meeting.

Cyndi Power, Glenn Milne, Helen Healy, Ian Arney, Jason Modica, Jodi Reynolds, Liam Wood, Mark Eckel and Stefano De Pieri were declared as the successful candidates in this year’s election earlier this month.

Tonight’s Annual Council Meeting and swearing-in ceremony was the final step to becoming Councillors, allowing each person to formally commit to their roles as elected representatives of our community.

Newly sworn-in Councillors then elected our municipality’s Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the coming 12 months.

Cr Jason Modica was elected Mayor, while Cr Helen Healy was elected Deputy Mayor.

Cr Modica congratulated all Councillors on their election as representatives of the more than 60,000 residents that call the Mildura Council area home.

“I’m delighted to be elected Mayor by my Councillor colleagues and look forward to working with them as part of a strong team of representatives for our community,” the Mayor said.

“We have so much to be proud of in our municipality, and so many opportunities which we look forward to realising.”



Tagged as: