Council Elections

Council elections are held every four years on the fourth Saturday in October. The next general election for Mildura Rural City Council will be held on 26 October 2024.

Stand for Council

The Municipal Association of Victoria is partnering with Victorian councils to deliver a number of information sessions for the community and prospective candidates. These sessions can be attended either in-person or online.

By attending one of these sessions, participants will be provided with information about:

Local government and the important role councils play for our local communities

The role and responsibility of a Councillor, Mayor, Deputy Mayor and CEO

The election process and candidate requirements

What newly elected councillors can expect soon after the elections

Councillor training and development opportunities

The sessions will be held at various metropolitan and non-metropolitan locations across Victoria. To register visit Stand for Council | MAV website

Midura Rural City Council will host a number of community and candidate information sessions in the Sunraysia region in coming weeks which will be announced soon.

Previous Elections

The last general election for Mildura Rural City Council was held on 24 October 2020.

The successful candidates were:

  • Ian Arney
  • Stefano De Pieri
  • Mark Eckel
  • Helen Healy
  • Glenn Milne
  • Jason Modica
  • Cyndi Power
  • Jodi Reynolds
  • Liam Wood


On 20 April 2022 a countback was conducted by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) to fill an extraordinary vacancy as the result of the resignation of Cyndi Power. As a result of this countback the successful candidate was:

  • Troy Bailey

Information on the Mildura Rural City Council electoral profile and past election results is available on the Victorian Electoral Commission website.


Electoral Structural Review

The Victorian Government in February 2024 announced the final results of its electoral structural review, which broke the Mildura Rural City Council electorate into nine single-councillor wards.

The nine new wards, which were named by the Victorian Government, are:

  • City Gate
  • Henderson Park
  • Karadoc
  • King’s Billabong
  • Lake Ranfurly
  • Mildura Wetlands
  • Millewa
  • Nowingi Place
  • Sunset Country

For more information visit Electoral structure and ward boundary reviews (

Election Campaign Donation Returns

Council is required, in accordance with section 307(2) of the Local Government Act 2020, to provide a summary of Election Campaign Donation Returns.