Aboriginal Action Committee


Council's Aboriginal Action Committee (AAC) was established in late 2011 as a way of strengthening Council’s relationships and engagement with the local Aboriginal community. 

The purpose of the AAC is to ‘improve and enhance the wellbeing of the Aboriginal community in the Mildura Rural City Council municipality’.

The AAC meet bi-monthly at Council’s Deakin Avenue Service Centre. 

Committee membership consists of community members, Elders, representatives from key local Aboriginal organisations and committees and two Councillors.

Current AAC members include:

Aunty Sandra Stewart Elder position
Aunty Janine Wilson Elder position
Andrew Arden Community member
Steve Portelli Community member
Marie Mitchell Community member
LeRoy Badenoch Community member
Susan Baxter Community member
Jacob Hunt Indigenous Family Violence Regional Action Group (IFVRAG) representative
Thelma Chilly Local Aboriginal Network (LAN) representative
Jenene Murray Local Aboriginal Education Consultative Group (LAECG) representative
Patsy Doolan Local Aboriginal Justice Action Committee (LAJAC) representative
Simone Spencer Mallee District Aboriginal Services (MDAS) representative
Cr Helen Healy Mildura Rural City Councillor
Cr Simon Clemence Mildura Rural City Councillor

The AAC has demonstrated huge commitment in working alongside Council, demonstrating positive relationships and ongoing communication between Council and the community, to make positive and sustainable change.

Some key achievements of the AAC to date can be found on our Aboriginal Heritage Page

More Information

Contact our Social Inclusion Officer
Phone: (03) 5018 8100