

MINUTES

Annual Meeting of Council

5:30pm Thursday 2 November 2023

VENUE: Committee & Council Room 76 Deakin Ave, Mildura

Copies of Mildura Rural City Council's Agendas & Minutes can be obtained online at www.mildura.vic.gov.au

INDEX

1	PRAYER AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY		. 3
2	OPENING AND WELCOME		. 3
3	PRESENT		. 3
4	APOLOGIES AND ABSENCES		. 3
5	MANAGEMENT REPORTS		. 4
	5.1	ELECTION OF MAYOR	. 4
	5.2	ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR	. 5
6	URGENT BUSINESS		. 5
7	CLOSURE		. 5

MARTIN HAWSON

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

1 PRAYER AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Chief Executive Officer read the Council prayer and paid respects to the traditional land owners.

2 OPENING AND WELCOME

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed Councillors, management, staff and members of the public viewing the live stream.

3 PRESENT

Councillors

Cr Ian Arney

Cr Troy Bailey

Cr Stefano De Pieri

Cr Mark Eckel

Cr Helen Healy

Cr Glenn Milne

Cr Jason Modica

Cr Liam Wood

Officers

Martin Hawson Chief Executive Officer

Daryl Morgan General Manager Infrastructure & Assets
Mark Jenkins Interim General Manager Strategy & Growth
Cheree Jukes Acting General Manager Healthy Communities
Kate Henschke General Manager Corporate Performance
Peter Alexander General Manager Strategy & Growth

Larni Baird Manager Governance

4 APOLOGIES AND ABSENCES

Moved: Cr Mark Eckel Seconded: Cr Jason Modica

That Council accept the apology from the following Councillor:

Cr Jodi Reynolds

CARRIED

5 MANAGEMENT REPORTS

5.1 ELECTION OF MAYOR

Summary

The purpose of this report is to undertake the process for the election of the Mayor in accordance with section 25 of the *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act).

2023/0168

Moved: Cr Glenn Milne Seconded: Cr Stefano de Pieri

That Council elect a Mayor for a 1 year term.

CARRIED

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

Cr Ian Areny moved and Cr Mark Eckel seconded that Cr Liam Wood be nominated for Mayor for the ensuing year.

Cr Jason Modica moved and Cr Helen Healy seconded that Cr Helen Healy be nominated for Mayor for the ensuing year.

The Chief Executive Officer called for the vote, having received an absolute majority, Cr Liam Wood was declared Mayor.

At this point, the Mayor, Liam Wood took the chair and undertook the duties of Chairperson.

The Mayor, Liam Wood made a ceremonial speech.

5.2 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Summary

The purpose of this report is to elect the position of Deputy Mayor to undertake the role of Mayor in accordance with section 21 of the *Local Government Act 2020*.

That Council appoint a Deputy Mayor, for the Mayoral term, to perform the role of Mayor in accordance with section 21 of the Local Government Act 2020.

NB: Mayor Liam Wood noted this recommendation in the absence of a resolution.

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cr Stefano de Pieri moved and Cr lan Areny seconded that Cr Mark Eckel be nominated for Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

Cr Jason Modica moved and Cr Troy Bailey seconded that Cr Helen Healy be nominated for Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

The Mayor called for the vote, having received an absolute majority, Cr Mark Eckel was declared Deputy Mayor.

The Deputy Mayor, Cr Mark Eckel made a ceremonial speech.

6 URGENT BUSINESS

Signed:

Nil

7 CLOSURE

There being no further business the meeting closed at 5:44pm.

Date of Confirmation: 23 November 2023

Chairperson